The Silence & The Mountain

We need silence to be able to touch souls.

Mother Teresa


City girl, I’ve always been used to the sound. The sound of the cars, or the train passing don’t click in my mind, don’t wake me up at night. And I love the loud music, people singing or screaming, the joy of loud laughs. But I also appreciate my peaceful time, reading in a calm environment, walking in the forest, stop all the voices around for a while.

I remember a few years ago I slept at my grandma’s, the last house of the village, surrounded by trees. When I woke up in the morning, there was silence for a few seconds, and then the most beautiful song from a little bird.

But only now, at my 23 I discover what silence is. I travelled to Madeira Island, and we took a trail of 2km to the top of Pico Ruivo. After running to catch a rainbow, I arrived to the beginning of our walk again and for three seconds there was an absolute silence surrounding us. I couldn’t let the moment escape, so I put my finger next to my lips, and showed the signal of “Chiuhhh”.

I’ve no idea for how long I was with the silence, and I can’t remember if any thought came to my mind. However, I’ll never forget the silence & the mountain, how heavy, scary, and at the same time stunning it was. Deep, deep as the dark. And still, I’m looking forward to come accross a silent moment!

This makes me think: Most of us don’t know the silence, and probably most of the time, how to touch a soul!

 

Silence.jpg

Susana M. Anastácio

Leave a Reply

