Discovery

Traveling tends to magnify all human emotions.” — Peter Hoeg


A few weeks ago I planned to take a walk after my final uni exam. I was super excited to finally be back in nature after such an intense time among books and cups of coffee.7248456_UzgOF

I did a little bit of research and my choice ended up to be the Fórnea Trail, that you can see in the above pic, 20 minutes away from Leiria.

What could go wrong so close from home? We might think about challenges if we go to the other side of the world, but not when we’re so close to what we know.

I felt oppressed by the nature! All around were the high mountains with big rocks, not a lot of green and no water. The river was completely dry, and there were strong plants everywhere, and big mosquitos, remind us all the time who makes the rules.

PicMonkey Collage

It’s a beautiful place, just not easy to learn how to like.

My stress from the last days was growing into a big ball inside me. Suddenly we started going up and it turned into fear. The path was not that large, and it was full of small rocks making it easy to slip and fall. So while still going up, I was already in panic about going down.

At the top of our way, we were still in the middle of the mountains, but I felt much lighter, and for a while all the bad feelings left with the wind.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESAfter a deep breath I got the courage to go down again. It seems silly, but I’m learning how to move my body and trust in myself when I’ve to walk down.

In the end I was even happier about learning how to enjoy a piece of nature like that, and learn more about myself, than anything else. Nothing went worng, but inside me was a battle between my fears and my desire to go further. Every trip can add something to our lifes, even when it’s close to the world we know.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Leave a Reply

